The Quick Fix

It’s January and the time of year most of us are looking to get fit, tone up and lose the excess Christmas bulge.

But how do we do this? Will it take forever, can we do it quickly, can we make it stick this time?

It can be tempting to find the next quick fix – pills, potions, starving yourself or starting a new fitness class. Trust me, I have fallen for that trap too. But it can be a dangerous game.

Take a shake diet for example, surviving on a few hundred calories a day can lead to weight loss for sure. But it can also lead to an unhealthy attitude towards food. I hope no-one ever stands in their kitchen crying and terrified to eat real food in fear of it making them fat. I have done that, and looking back at pictures of me then, I was far from it.

(I have done that, and looking back at pictures of me then, I was far from it… In fact I was so close to having an eating disorder.)

And shake diets only work whilst you are on them. Yes you lose pounds, because you are not eating. But break this, and eat more calories and suddenly you have put most, all or more of the weight back on.

There are so many diets out there, it can be confusing about what will work for you. And the fact is, that we are all unique beings who have differing needs, preferences and willpower.

I for one can not resist cake if offered, but I have a friend who can take it or leave it. Yet they will bite the hand off the person with the crisps. And I’m happy to leave them.

Some people work well on a higher protein diet, some on high carb, some with lots of veggies and more fats. Some people like to plan and track, others eat ad libitum. Some like to eat everything and others find it hard to eat large meals.

So, the best diet for you, is going to be the one you can stick to!

Finding out how best to eat for you can also take time. Call it trial and error.

Not everyone has the patience for this. But its definitely worth working at.

But that’s just my opinion – you might already have found what works for you. And that’sĀ brilliant!

The least stressful way to live is to enjoy your food. Especially if you love food as much as me!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment